Slumdog for the WIN! Congrats!

I’ve seen Slumdog Millionaire a couple of days back, and I must admit it sure deserve the win! Congrats to the cast and crew of Slumdog! I’m glad it’s getting the recognition it deserves, just hoping that the child actors will be able to lead better lives after the making of the film… Maybe it’s time people start to understand the lifes of others less privilege than us. And yes, do something about it. If no one starts, no one will. I admit I’m quilty of this too…

Someone once said in her thank-you speech (damn, I forget who was it) that it is art that binds people of the world together. Kind of true to a certain extent. It travels farther than words can go, and it ties in stronger than a firm handshake. And perhaps it pays more than money can give. Art, of all form, can unite, and even break people up. How magnificent and bold, yet sensitive and quite Art can be… That’s art, and nothing can possibly over take it. Oh- maybe not believing in it can. (By art, I dont mean artsy stuff, experimental stuff, but simple, everyday stuff like any MOVIES, TV, Photography, print media, etc.)

And a friend told me that the censorship board in my country censored Dustin Lance Black’s (winner of the Oscars Original Screenplay Award) thank you speech for the film MILK. And it’s  just ’cause he talks about accepting the gay people of the world, and how god loves them as he loves the ‘normal’ folks. Damn. Seriously, damn- the curse word could have been worse.

Dude, its time to open up. I’m not saying to show homosexual stuff on the TV for kids to see, but would kids, listening to a thank you speech with the mention that being gay is ok, be tempted to be GAY the next moment? NO! Did any of you, after listening to the speech, want to turn gay? I’ve heard the speech, and I’ve no intentions on being gay. None at all! Damn. Its not fair to cut of Dustin Lance Black’s speech because of the nature of the topic. Well then, i guess life isn’t fair. Come on, he didn’t even go on to ENCOURAGE people to be gay, he just thanked people who’ve understood and accepted him, and assured the gay community that they are not alone, that they can still be loved and respected. Don’t everyone deserve to be loved? I believe so.

No one deserves to be condemned for being who they really are. We are all of the same kind, after all.

I have gay friends. Now, who don’t in a society like this? We might not engage in the activities they do, or encourage them to continue being homosexual. But as friends, all we can do, once they’ve really made up their mind, is to accept them for who they are and treat them normal, no? That’s what a friend should be, and not go on avoiding them. We might not hang out with them as much as we did, but these friends will definitely not become outcasted from us, right? We might disagree with their behaviour and choices, but we can’t deny their friendship. That would be too selfish, don’t you think?

I understand these might be sensitive issues, but I’ve no intention of causing any debate or to hurt any people. Just some personal thoughts and I’m just thinking that there has got to be more love, and lives would be easier. yeah? everyone’s special..

P.S. Ah, need I say more?

Have you ever thought,
Just maybe you…….. ? (fill in the blanks yourself..)

4 thoughts on “Slumdog for the WIN! Congrats!

  1. I admit I’m QUILTY of this too…
    I admit I’m QUILTY of this too…
    I admit I’m QUILTY of this too…
    I admit I’m QUILTY of this too…
    I admit I’m QUILTY of this too…

Leave a Reply

