Wont back down

I Won’t Back Down by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Well I won’t back down
No I won’t back down
You can stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down

No I’ll stand my ground, won’t be turned around
And I’ll keep this world from draggin me down
gonna stand my ground
… and I won’t back down

Chorus:
(I won’t back down…)
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(and I won’t back down…)
hey I will stand my ground
and I won’t back down

Well I know what’s right, I got just one life
in a world that keeps on pushin me around
but I’ll stand my ground
…and I won’t back down

(I won’t back down…)
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(and I won’t back down…)
hey I will stand my ground
(I won’t back down)
and I won’t back down…

(I won’t back down…)
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(I won’t back down)
hey I won’t back down
(and I won’t back down)
hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(and I won’t back down)
hey I will stand my ground
(and I won’t back down)
and I won’t back down
(I won’t back down)
No I won’t back down…

Tom Petty and his band certainly sing many of the greatest songs! “You can stand me up at the gates of hell, and I won’t back down.” This is the spirit many are lacking, and this song has given me much determination of standing firm to the ground. I guess I really need these, in times like this.

Like I was saying, I’m at the crossroad of my life. I want to be sure of what I really want. I dont want to be spending  half a million of my parent’s ‘guan cai ben’ (a chinese saying for coffin money, but NOT in a literal sense. Its more like retirement money.) studying something I dont know if I can ever pay them back with. I dont want to be ‘squandering’ it away.

I have a dream for myself in 10 years time, but somehow, they are in a haze. I cant see it clearly, and it might just never happen. And then, I’ll be lost, again. And much older. There is so much serious thinking to be done. Im confused (confundida, I’m learning Spanish, you see), worried, lost all at once. Damn.

And I’m turning older in a few days time. NO! I want to be mature, not old. Hahaha! God, have mercy on my soul.

Just one life, ain’t going to waste it off.

Faust, another great film added to my favourite list.

P.S. Forget them, really.

Leave a Reply

