Learning about the world

Someone once said, the best filmmaker is one who knows not only about film making. (I hope my grammar’s right here)

 

So, one of my new year’s resolution, as well as waiting to enter college next Fall, would be to increase my knowledge on world issues! I just returned from the community library with books on Astonishing Women Artises, World War 1, and Pearl Harbour. It’s a slow start, considering that I borrowed these books from the teenage section. But I wouldn’t want to bore myself out with too much facts and evaluations. Dude, I’m not writing a thesis down here 🙂 Perhaps I’ll move on to deeper things when I get a hang of what’s going on, and what interest me.

 

I’m actually loving history. And it’s sad because in school, we learn mostly basic backgrounds on history. And most of what we’re tested on/are taught are the history of Singapore, Malaysia, etc, from the 1930s and till today. Social Studies, they call it. But, man, Sg’s so small. Yeah, it’s important to learn about my country, but I cant go on in life just knowing enough about the little fishbowl I live in. I’ve explored quite a bit in this little safe tank. Now I want to learn about the ocean. I want to know about the world’s ancestors, not just ‘mine’.  I think History’s important. Maybe it would be difficult to take tests and exams on history (argh, dates) but to have a knowledge about it is amazingly interesting and thought provoking.

 

I mean, it’s important, considering I’m from this world.

 

Anyway, updates on my college application:

 

I’ve been accepted into: Temple University, Columbia College Chicago and University of Miami (Spring admission for all)

I’m going to Loyola Marymount University in Fall 2011 though. I’m actually happy! It’s a great school, and I’m already excited to study there. My dream school. I CANT WAIT! 8 months before school- I’ll be working. I wish for a smooth process before I leave for US in several months! I know I’m going to love it there 🙂

Rejected from: Boston University, Chapman University (they asked me to apply for a Masters though. But I think I’m not prepared for it.)

 

It was a tough few months. LMU is my DREAM school. But I got to wait for 8 months to enter. And then temptations start coming in when other schools started accepting me. But I know I’ve made the right decision for everyone, myself especially. I know I’ll be more than happy to enter the gates of LMU in August 2011, and I’ll be so excited I could fly. I’m truly happy to be accepted there.

 

I have friends and my mom to thank, really. Mummy never gave up supporting me. She went through the admission process as a very concerned mother. She made sure I had everything right. And she encouraged me when I thought I could not even live through the admission process.

 

And my friends. Marje was leaving for the UK, yet she gave me great feedback on my essays. Shuhui encouraged me when I was at my ‘downest’ even before the had the opportunity to bathe after a long day ( I so appreciated it). Ying acted in my Chapman application video even though she never aspired to be an actress. Ying’s sis offered me her voice when I disturbed her late at night to help me with a VO recording. Van lent me her precious Canon DSLR and her home to shoot in. Eugene and Ray gave me feedback on my video and essays. Mrs Tay, Mr Lim, Mr Lau and Mr Yip, my lecturers supported my endlessly with all the forms they had to fill in, and recommendation letters they had to write despite it being their school holidays. Many other friends helped me in so many ways I dont know how to thank them. ❤

 

I’m so darn lucky!

 

Now I got to get my life in order. Learn driving (actually complete learning), keep myself fit, make new friends, learn intermediate Spanish (?), get a job at a film production/photography company, spend time with my family, increase my world knowledge, yo. I need to spend these time wisely and not waste a second of it!

 

Hasta la vista. Till we meet again.

 

Off to learn about the first world war.

Leave a Reply

